Concord Street, c

staats_042.jpg

Dublin Core

Title

Concord Street, c

Date

c. 1956-1957
11/21/2016 (date digital)

Description

Bennett's Rice Mill
Back of photograph: "(c) Henry P. Staats / Bennet's Rice Mill / Chas. S.C. / Concord St."The imposing structure was built in 1844, began operations in 1845, closed in 1911, and ceased to exist by the 1960s. It remained in the Bennett family for the entire period of operations. In fact most of the mills in the city belonged to either the Bennett or Lucas families during the antebellum period. A wing was added to the already extensive mill compound in the mid-nineteenth century and continued operations until the early 20th century. Weather would ultimately be the mills downfall on many different fronts. It truly is a testament to the structure that the remaining portion of the facade managed to survive Hurricane Hugo. References: Poston, J. (1997). The buildings of Charleston: A guide to the city’s architecture. Columbia, University of South Carolina Press.
visible image 12 x 12 cm
Donated to CLS by Henry P. Staats.

Contributor

Vories, Dylan (digital assistant)

Rights

This item is in copyright but can be used for educational purposes. Please contact Charleston Library Society for more information for any use not qualifying as educational use.

Format

image/jpeg

Type

StillImage

Source

Hinson Audio/Visual Collection

Identifier

chls:363
staats_042

Citation

Staats, Henry P., “Concord Street, c,” Charleston Library Society Digital Collections, accessed December 8, 2022, https://charlestonlibrarysociety.omeka.net/items/show/1185.